Week 96 – What Happens Here and Now Is Forever Important

Pasay Stake Conference.JPG

This was at Pasay Stake Conference. The man on the left is Tatay Greg. He got baptized about a month after I left the area in Pasay 3rd. It was great to see all of them!
 Ablon Family
This is the Ablon Family and Sister Jerlain.
Elder Zeyer
This is my new companion, Elder Zeyer. He’s from Melba, Idaho! He actually went to school with Elder Ashton in Nampa!!
________________________________________________

Ang abala namin dito ngayon (We are so busy here right now). It might be a short email, but it has been another amazing week!

Here are the short highlights: As you saw on the mission blog, I had a meeting last week called the “finish strong” meeting. I had heard a lot about it from Elder Whittle, Elder Smith, and Elder Garcia, but it was a lot different than I expected. The Spirit hit me really strong during the meeting and I realized something that I know will change my life from now on. I especially felt this impression when President Ostler spoke about Abraham and how he “was away from his homeland for the rest of his life, but he was always right with God.” What the Spirit taught me was that the meeting and pretty much the whole mission isn’t just about something that will end in a couple of months. It’s about “finishing strong” for the rest of my life. It’s about enduring to the end, not just to the end of my mission. I know that to give all that I have here in the time that I have left is the best way to start giving my all for the rest of my life. I read this quote the other day, “My beloved young friends, every day is part of eternity. What happens here and now is forever important.” -Richard L. Evans. I am coming to realize more and more that this is true. I know for a fact that this gospel is the way; that Jesus Christ is the way. I know that Heavenly Father has a work for me to do and I’m never going to stop serving Him and His children. I’m grateful for the opportunity to set goals for eternity. Making my “life vision” has helped me to gain an eternal perspective and it has only increased my desire to serve.
_______________________________________________
The other highlight for this week was MTC exchanges. It’s the first time that I’ve taken part in them since I was in the MTC. We met up with some missionaries who came from the Provo Batch (it was actually just their second day in the Philippines), we took them to our area, worked for about an hour and a half, and then went back to the chapel. I was with Elder (Matthew) Finlayson and Elder (Kyle) Bland. Their both from Utah and they are going to be great missionaries. They asked me lots of questions and even did some of the OYMs even though all they could say in tagalog was “kamusta po kayo?” (how are you?). It was actually a miracle what happened. We only had a few more minutes to work and we had just been OYMing the whole time. I told one of the Elders, “go up and talk to someone.” He talked to an elderly lady and she let us right in to teach her and her husband. We’re going back this week. It really built their faith in talking to everyone and finding. I could see the fire in their eyes at the end of the exchange.
I’m out of time, but I love you guys so much! I’ll let you know how transfer week went on the other side.
Ingat kayo palagi!
Mahal na mahal ko kayong lahat!
-Elder Beagley
Leave a Reply

