Week 85 – A Truly Eternal Perspective…

DSCN1878[1]

This is my face while driving in Manila! It’s a little bit stressful…

DSCN1871[1]

The one on the right is Elder Marquez, Elder Schaeffer’s new anak. Since I trained Elder Lumanta (center) and he trained Elder Schaeffer that makes Elder Marquez my great grandson!

DSCN1873[1]

This is Elder Leofo. We dropped him off at the airport on Wednesday night. I’m his replacement as an assistant.

mision blog pic2

Elders Whittle, Garcia & Leofo

_________________

 

 

Magandang Umaga sa inyong lahat!

It has been a really busy and kinda crazy week, but it was still great!

This last week was transfer week so that’s why I had to come to the mission office early on Monday morning. Usually transfers happen on Wednesday, but since I would be helping out this time I transferred early. My companions are Elder Garcia and Elder Whittle (We’re in a tri-some right now).  Our new area is actually in my old zone. We’re in Pasay 4th ward. We’ve got some good things happening in the area but it’s kind of hard to visit our investigators regularly since we don’t get to proselyte as much. President Ostler said something really true in my “starting interview” with him. He said that we will really need miracles to achieve the mission vision along with all of our other responsibilities. I know that if we do all that we can, the Lord will bless us with those miracles.

My testimony was strengthened this week about something that Henry B. Eyring said a couple conferences ago. He talked about how when we do our part, the Lord magnifies our efforts. I can testify that this is true. We missed out on 3 and a half days of work this week because of transfer day, new missionary meetings, and other assignments, but we were still able to teach 17 lessons and OYM more people than I ever have before in a week. I know that it’s really true that “by small and simple things are great things brought to pass.” When we were able to work, the Lord magnified our efforts and helped us to find many new investigators this week. I’m really grateful for every minute that we get to proselyte and we are doing our best to make the most out of them.

My last highlight for the week is from a lesson that we had with one of our progressing investigators.  Brother Jonald has been through a lot in his life. He has no legs below the knees and only about half of his fingers due to being burned. A member is taking care of him and that’s how the missionaries came in contact with him. We were teaching Brother Jonald about the Plan of Salvation this past week. As we taught about the Resurrection we asked him how he felt that he would one day have a resurrected body and no longer be in pain. His response wasn’t what I was expecting but it was really profound. He said that he was more excited to feel that he is clean. He talked about why he wanted to be baptized and that he hopes that he can be forgiven for the things he has done in the past. I felt the spirit as he spoke and realized that Brother Jonald is starting to gain an eternal perspective. He values being clean and being able to return to live with Heavenly Father even more that being able to walk again. He understands that this is the greatest of all the gifts of God. I know that no matter what temporal things we may or may not have, we should have the same focus as Brother Jonald. We should live our lives worthily and always seek the kingdom of God first. I know that this is the Lord’s work and I know that He lives! I love you guys! Have a great week!

Mahal namahal ko kayong lahat!

Ingat kayo palagi!

-Elder Beagley

Leave a Reply

