Week 77.2 – Family, Friends and Blessings

Screenshot_2016-03-03-20-47-42

My Birthday at Sweet Tomatoes

Screenshot_2016-03-04-08-50-34

My Niece Claire Shares My Birthday – Isn’t She So Cute?!!!!!!!!!

___________________________

Hey everyone! This post is coming later than usual. Not having a P-Day has thrown me off a little. It has been another great week back home. After having the surgery, my mom and I stayed in Utah for about a week until the doctor could take the drain tube out. It was a real blessing to be able to stay with my mom’s high school friend Shari. She’s a riot and we had a great time visiting others like her parents, my mom’s other friend Jennifer, and even my MTC companion Brandon Dunford. He came home with MSG poisoning and it was great to finally see him again and to meet his family. I could tell that it was hard for his parents and especially for him to not finish his mission, but I know that the Lord has a purpose for every trial he throws our way and the Dunfords have been doing all that they can to help others affected by what Brandon had. It was a great week and I was almost sad to make the trip back to Idaho.

I also had a birthday this last Friday and my relatives in Utah made it a great day! We went to a delicious place called Sweet Tomatoes and got to visit with my aunts, uncles, and cousins on the Beagley side. It was a really fun time and a better birthday than I expected. Thanks again to everyone who made it a great birthday despite me just having had surgery.

Recovery from the surgery is going well. I’m able to do most things with little to no pain and I’m off of the medicine that they gave me. It’s nice not to be too cooped up as I recover. My mom and I went to Costco the other day and as we were about to check out I heard some ladies near us speaking tagalog. I told my mom to get in their line and I followed with the cart. They were so surprised when I started speaking with them after asking them where they were from. Even the cashier lady was from the Philippines. It was a blessing from Heavenly Father to still be able to feel a connection with the Philippines and the Filipino people way out here in Idaho. Needless to say, it made my day.
I’ve been in contact with Elder Valdez and he says that the area is going great and they have a couple of potential baptisms coming up this month! It has been a great experience staying in touch with friends and old companions from my mission and friends that are still serving. I got an email from Mitch Cottle (a rugby teammate serving in Anaheim, California) and it really helped me remain focused and not get discouraged through this process.
One of the best things that happened this past week is that I’ve started working at the Boise temple. After meeting with a member of the temple presidency I was set apart and I just returned earlier to work my first shift. Even after just one day I know that this is what Heavenly Father wants me to do. The spirit is so strong in the temple, and I know that serving there will help me to keep the missionary spirit alive. I know that the blessings of the temple are real and that families are forever when we do our part to keep our covenants. I’m excited to continue to serve and learn in any way that I can so that I’ll be ready to go back out.
That’s all for this week!
Mahal ko kayong lahat!
Ingat kayo palagi!
-Elder Beagley

One thought on “Week 77.2 – Family, Friends and Blessings

  1. We are praying for you. So happy to hear that your recovery is going a little better than expected. You are awesome!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

