Week 77 – This Week Was a Little Different…

Airport

 

20160213_190319_001

20160213_190352

Group 2

 

Pasensya na huli ang mensahe na ito. (Sorry this message is late) But I think you’ll understand once you read it and if you’ve already seen me since I got back. This email is more to all of those who have been following the blog. This past week was very eventful, to say the least. On Wednesday I began to have some noticeable pain on my tailbone while sitting and I got in contact with Sister Lemmon,our medical coordinator for the mission. Long story short, I went to get it checked out on Friday morning and was home in Idaho Saturday night. It still kind of seems like a dream; I can’t believe I’m back in Idaho. I’ll be getting surgery for something that’s called a pilonidal cyst (don’t google that, unless you’re a doctor and are okay with gross stuff) and I’ll need to take some time after to recover. The best part is that I still get to go back to the Philippines. It’s actually a miracle that everything happened the way that it did. If I had come home two weeks later I would have had less than six months left in my mission and would not be able to return. This is an interesting trial and, like my mission president and stake president said, the Lord has a purpose for bringing me back at this time.

One of the most spiritual moments that happened this week was right after I found out what the cause of the pain was and that I would need to come to the States for surgery. That morning (Friday) we had gone straight to the doctor and my companion hadn’t eaten breakfast so we headed down to the hospital cafeteria after meeting with the doctor. My feelings were a mixture of surprise and disbelief. I just kept thinking “this isn’t supposed to happen.” I had been in Pasay for a while and was expecting a transfer, but not a transfer back to Idaho. As my companion ate I couldn’t hold it all in and the tears started, but then the Spirit came into my heart and a passage of scripture came into my mind. It’s from Romans chapter 8:

“35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ?shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword?
36 As it is written, For thy sake we are killed all the daylong; we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.
37 Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us.
38 For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present,nor things to come,
39 Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”
I knew without a doubt at that moment that Heavenly Father loves me completely and perfectly. Even if I have to go home for a while, he will still love me and support me in this trial. I realized that I was wrong; that this was supposed to happen and that even if I don’t know what Heavenly Father has in mind, he has a purpose for sending me here at this time.
One way that Heavenly Father has already blessed my life and continues to do so is through my family and loved ones. I was pleasantly surprised to see Justyn Zook waiting alongside my family in the airport when I arrived. He was my trainer and is a true friend. It was just what I needed to have him there and it really helped me to adjust. Heavenly Father places these people in our lives to bless and strengthen us along the way. I’m grateful for my family and all of those who gave me a warm welcome in Stake Conference.
For now I’ll still try and send out an email each week to keep you guys updated. For now I’ll be traveling down to Utah on Monday to have the surgery on Tuesday. The recovery is sounding like it’ll be about 6 weeks but we hope it goes faster than that.
That’s all for this week! Ingat kayo palagi!
Leave a Reply

