Week 60 – Changes Are Coming & The Work Goes On…

Mission HomeMission Office

Games @ Mission Office (2)

Family Night Zone Activity at the Mission Office

Foosball

Apples to Apples (2)

Apples to Apples

Cinnamon Rolls (2)

Cinnamon Roll Deliciousness!

Transfer day na naman! It comes so fast.  We have had a crazy week! I won’t be transferring this time, but Elder Stratton will be training in Palawan for his last transfer.

We had a really fun zone activity on Monday at the mission home. There was even foosball and Apples to Apples which made me remember some fun times back at home.

We also had a really good lesson with the Moser Family this last week. We shared about Christ’s earthly ministry and how the gospel was lost after his death. As we were finishing up, Sister Moser asked us, “Meron ba kayong mga bawal sa Mormons?” (Do Mormons have things that aren’t allowed?) She had heard that we didn’t smoke or drink and wanted to see if it was true. We explained to her that we knew we will be blessed if we avoid those things. Her husband then expressed a little bit of concern about that. He said that he had tried to quit smoking before and just couldn’t do it. I felt the Spirit right then prompting me to testify of the power of the Atonement, and that’s what I did. I explained to Brother Moser that it is hard to give up things like that, but that is what the gospel is all about. The beauty of this gospel is that we can become better. We don’t have to be stuck in our bad habits or addictions. I testified to him that, through Christ’s Atonement, we can receive strength to change our lives and to become the people that only God can make us. I know that this is true. I know that the Mosers felt the spirit and I know that if Brother Moser will have that “real intent” that we always talk about, he can overcome anything that is keeping him from accepting the gospel.”
On Wednesday I got to work with Elder Hadley (one of the Assistants to the President). We had an amazing day and found 6 new investigators. I learned a lot that I can improve on especially in working with the members. The ward there in Makati has seen how hard the assistants work and they trust them to teach and take care of their friends and neighbors. They have a lot of support there because of that. It was also really great to see how dedicated Elder Hadley is even with only 1 week left in the mission. That’s my goal.
So as far as the transfer goes there are a lot of changes here in Pasay. 5 Elders have finished their missions and will be headed home. Elder Stratton is training a new missionary for a transfer on Palawan and Elder Bernard will be transferring into the zone! My new companion will be Elder Bengan who I don’t really know at all yet so we’ll see how it goes! I’m really excited to have all of these changes going on and I know that, just like President Ostler told all of the trainers, this is our opportunity to change the culture of the mission. I know that Heavenly Father will help us to get the work moving here in Pasay zone. We have already started to see improvements with 5 baptisms in the zone this past week (we only had 3 all together last month.) We are being blessed.
I’m out of time but I hope that you will all keep on searching for those missionary opportunities, ponderizing, and reviewing the talks from conference. I love you guys!
Mahal namahal ko kayong lahat!
Ingat kayo palagi!
-Elder Beagley
Leave a Reply

