Week 57 – Very Blessed to Know and to Share the Gospel

More exotic fruits - rambutan

More Exotic Fruits – Rambutan

Magandang hapon sa inyong lahat! It has been another fast and amazing week here in Pasay!

First I wanted to share about a lesson that we had last week after our temple trip. It was with Brother Blanco, a new investigator. We had actually OYM’ed him while he was selling Mangosteen (one of the many delicious fruits here). We bought some fruit from him and got a return appointment but he didn’t seem all that interested at first. We returned to his house on the day that we had set, but he was still selling fruits and couldn’t leave his cart. After our temple trip was the second time that we had come back and this time he let us in to share a message with him and his wife. As we taught, Elder Stratton and I could see how important his family was to him. All of his answers to the questions that we asked him were centered on family. At the end of the lesson I felt prompted to share one more scripture in Mosiah 4:14-15 and testify about the blessings that the gospel can bring into our families. I told Brother Blanco that I’m far away from my family, but I don’t feel like I have to worry about them, because I know that they are living the gospel and that, through sacred ordinances, we have been sealed as an eternal family unit. I told him that we could see his desire to give his children a good life and to make them happy and I testified that there is no better way to do that than by living the gospel of Jesus Christ. I felt the spirit testifying through me that the verse we read was true and that the gospel can really bless Brother Blanco’s family. I know that he felt it and he was really thinking about what we had shared with him as we closed with a prayer and left. I feel so blessed to have the gospel in my life and to have the opportunity to share it with others. I know that Heavenly Father is blessing us in this area and I hope that we can really be a help in strengthening the ward and helping them to accomplish the Mission Vision here in Pasay.”
The next highlight happened after we went and observed some of the Sister Training Leaders teach at the chapel by the mission home. We had to watch the class first so that we can teach it tomorrow as a part of interviews. After the class we decided to go to the Subway by the chapel because we don’t get to go there very often. While we were ordering, an American came up and said that he’s a member from Lehi Utah. He asked where we were from and talked with me about Tanner Mangum playing for BYU. Then he paid for our sandwiches and even drinks and cookies which we don’t usually get because it’s expensive. It was pretty cool, but I didn’t remember his name. Elder Stratton said that it’s because Heavenly Father know’s that it’s close to the end of the month.
Our last highlight was a lesson last night with a newer investigator named Rona. She came to church with her aunt in their ward and is really interested. We even had a couple of RMs to come and teach with us. I’m out of time, but I love all of you guys and hope your week is great!
-Elder Beagley
Leave a Reply

