Week 52 – Baptisms, Zone Conference and the One Year Mark!

DSCN1292

A Beautiful Day

DSCN1290

The Paje Family

Gerarman Family & Friends

The Gerarman Family and Friends

3 Generation

A Three Generation Picture at Zone Conference

Ang ganda ng buhay dito sa Palawan! (Life is Great here in Palawan) It has been an amazing week!  Also I received all of the letters from the YW Camp. Tell them all thanks so much! I am having the time of my life right now. Elder Bernard and I are very blessed and happy to be here in Quezon. I know that Heavenly Father is blessing us all so much.

So here are the weekly highlights, and really some of the highlights of my mission so far:
Like I told you before, Brother Raffy had been a little discouraged because they haven’t been successful so far in getting his marriage papers signed by his father and finished. Elder Bernard and I decided that the next time we went to visit, if he still didn’t want to be taught, we would leave a note with the scriptures that we had planned to share and some encouraging words. We wrote that we love him and know that Heavenly Father is giving him these trials to make him strong. We left him Alma 36:37 and Ether 12:27 to read. That was last Monday when we left the note. The next day we were teaching close to the road at Brother Leonardo’s house when we saw Sister Rabanzo, Brother Raffy’s future mother-in-law, walking up to us. She told us that Raffy wanted us to come that night! When we went there later on he had even cooked for us! He thanked us and said that he had just felt down and angry at his situation. I know that the Spirit guided us in helping him and I really felt it in the lesson that night.
On Thursday we had exchanges in Narra with the Zone Leaders before heading to Puerto for Zone Conference the next morning. It was Elder Sacay’s birthday and the senior couple (The Wirthlins) made him cheesecake. He was nice and shared with us. It was like a little taste of mom’s cooking. So I’ll be okay for a while now. The exchanges went great and I learned a lot from Elder Merrill’s example. He only has about 2 more weeks in his mission, but it was plain to see that he isn’t slowing down or losing his focus at all.
Zone Conference on Friday was another amazing one. We talked about having power in our callings as missionaries. The subject that President Ostler focused on was having power in unity. He brought me and Elder Bernard up and put a yoke on us. You’ll have to look on the mission blog for the picture that Sister Ostler took. One of the best parts of the Conference though was a talk by President Hiatt on the Atonement of Jesus Christ. He read from Mosiah3:19, “For the natural man is an emeny to god and has been from the fall of Adam and will be forever and ever…” Then he paused and asked us, what if there was a period here? What if that was it? We would all just live and die as natural men and be enemies to God forever. He then went on and said that because of the Atonement it doesn’t have to be that way. We can “put off the natural man and become saints through the Atonement of Christ.” I know that this is true. Christ’s Atonement provides us with grace, or an enabling power. We need that to become more than we can become by ourselves. The Atonement has become so much more real to me here. I get to see the redeeming power taking effect in the lives of others and feel the enabling power giving me strength.
The last highlight was from Saturday and Sunday. There were 5 baptisms and confirmations. It was the happiest couple of days on my mission. I was blessed to be able to baptize Sister Nevia Gerarman and Brother Jacob Paje. Elder Bernard baptized Brother Alcris and Brother Vida. Then, Elder Vega baptized Dennies. The Spirit was so strong throughout the whole baptism and especially as each of them bore their testimonies. I love all of these people so much. Sunday afterwards was also great. We had the 5 confirmations and I blessed a baby of a part member family that we taught before but who now moved into the other Elders area. I love being a part of this work and seeing the miracles happen for these families. I’ll hit my one year mark this Saturday. WOW!!! Maybe you could call President Ostler and have him extend the time for another year or so. I’m just kidding Mom. But I wouldn’t say no if that were possible.
I love you guys all so much! Have a great week!
Mahal namahal ko kayong lahat! (Much love to All)
Hanggang sa darating na linggo (Until next week)
-Elder Beagley
Leave a Reply

