Week 48 – A Sabbath Day to Remember!

DSCN0793[1] (2)

Elder Vega

DSCN0792[1] (2)

My Kabahays (roomies) with the Awesome Sunset – Elders Vega, Bernard and Coloma

DSCN0798[1] (2)

                            Third exchanges in Rizal.      Took  another morning  run. It really was a “run” and not a jog because Elder Whittle played receiver in high school

DSCN0799[1] (2)

Elder Whittle

Magandang tanghali sa inyong lahat! There was a short “brownout” just as I was halfway through this email. Thank goodness for auto-save!
The first highlight is from my spiritual experience to President Ostler. It’s an update about Sister Eden: “I wanted to share about a lesson that we had with a part member Family, The Gerarmans. Our most recent recent convert, Sister Eden, is their cousin and she was present as we taught the message of the Restoration. I noticed right away the difference in Sister Eden compared to before her baptism. When Elder Bernard and I were teaching her she was very shy, and sometimes was too afraid to answer our questions because she thought she might be wrong. In this lesson however, she bore a powerful testimony of the truthfulness of the Book of Mormon and even helped us to answer a few of the Gerarman kids’ questions about the Apostasy. I really felt the Spirit as Sister Eden testified and it made me happy to see her sharing what she knows is true through her own experience. I know that the Gift of the Holy Ghost is a very real thing. I am so grateful to have this gift in my life. I know that we can feel Heavenly Father’s love for us, be comforted, testify with power, and teach with authority, all because of this gift that Heavenly Father has blessed us with.”

I know that staying worthy of and following the promptings of the Holy Ghost is so important in our lives. I remember a quote from David A. Bednar’s wife. She said that if we truly understood how wonderful it was to have the constant companionship of the third member of the Godhead, we would never do anything to risk losing that companionship.

This week I went on exchanges twice. Once in Rizal with Elder Whittle and once here in our area with Elder Vega. It was a great time and I really felt the Spirit guiding us. Even though I didn’t know the Investigators in Rizal and Elder Vega didn’t know our investigators here in Quezon, Heavenly Father does. Through that spirit we were able to have some really great lessons. One of the best ones was on Tuesday with Elder Whittle. They are currently helping a family in Rizal, the Risane family, to prepare to go to the temple. As we discussed with them the blessings that will come to their family through the covenants they will be able to make there I could really see their desire. They barely have enough income to make it by as it is, but they are doing all that they can to achieve their goal of being sealed and becoming an eternal family. Their faith is so strong and it was really an inspiration to me. They have no idea right now how they will make it to Manila, but they are living the gospel and trusting in Heavenly Father. I felt Heavenly Father’s love for them so strongly during that lesson.

The last highlight is about this Sunday and the whole week in general I guess. We really are so blessed to live in this dispensation and to have received a knowledge of The Gospel of Jesus Christ in our lives. I can understand where the General Authorities are coming from with emphasizing the importance of the Sabbath day. Not only Sunday, but especially partaking of the Sacrament has become a lot more special and sacred to me as I have been serving and teaching others about the importance of covenants.We had two part member families (the Gerarmans and the Pahe family) who attended sacrament meeting along with Brother Leonardo, his mother and sister. The Cabillar Family, and Brother Raffy were all in attendance as well. Heavenly Father has really blessed us with so many people here who are prepared to receive the gospel. The branch really welcomed them in and it seemed like they all had a great time. We also had a couple really great lessons this week with Brother Leonardo and his family. I am so grateful to be here I Quezon right now. Yesterday right before Sacrament Meeting President Yap asked me if I could be one of the speakers along with Elder Coloma. We agreed and even though we were both just scrambling to find scriptures it all ended up okay. I decided to talk about members in missionary work and to encourage all of them to continue to show their examples to those around them. I know that we can all have a huge impact on those around us as we seek to live the gospel more fully. They will know and learn more about what we believe from our actions than from what we say. I hope that you are all seeking and praying for those missionary opportunities, at huwag kayong matakot kapag dumating sila (and don’t be afraid when they come). Alam ko na kaya nyo iyan! (I know that you guys can do it!) Also, don’t forget to try and share a Book of Mormon with someone this week!
 I love you guys!
Mahal namahal ko kayong lahat!
Ingat kayo palagi!

-Elder Beagley

Leave a Reply

