Week 47 – Conversion Strengthens Others

DSCN0783[1]

Elder Bernard and the Bahay

DSCN0784[1] (1)

Our Serious Faces – I Just Can’t Do It!

DSCN0788[1]

Elder Villoso

Magandang tanghali sa inyong lahat!

On Tuesday after district meeting and all of Wednesday I had exchanges with Elder Villoso while Elder Bernard went to Narra. My spiritual experience to President Ostler was actually from something that Elder Villoso said to me.  I was expressing my desire to him to have more success as a district and that sometimes I’m not sure what it is that the other Elders need. He just asked me, “How is Elder Coloma’s mom doing?” I was a little confused and replied that I didn’t know how she was doing. He then explained that I need to know my stewardship before I can lead them in the most effective way possible. It struck me then that he was exactly right and I felt the Spirit confirming to me that it was something I need to work on. Just as we need to “Build Relationships and Trust” with those whom we teach, we should have an even greater trust as missionaries in a district. I have since thought about and studied the Savior’s example of this principle. He said in John 10:14 “I am the good shepherd and know my sheep and are known of mine.” If I want to be a Christlike leader I need to know and trust those whom He has placed in my care and they need to know and trust me. I’ll really do my best to develop unity here in the Quezon District.
On Saturday we had interviews with President Ostler. It took the whole day traveling and having the training meetings but it was well worth it to receive guidance and direction. In my interview with President Ostler we mainly discussed how the Mission Vision is coming along, specifically in the Quezon Branch. Even though it has been a little slow to start, this Vision is having a big effect on the mission. Everything is so much more focused on true conversion and helping our investigators, recent converts, and less-actives down the covenant pathway. The other thing that I asked President Ostler for some help with is helping the other Elders in the district to have success. He gave me some great counsel and explained that it will be all about unity. Just as he was saying that, rugby popped into my head. It was a strange thing to be thinking about in the interview, but then again it made perfect sense. I told him about what a scrum is and that the closer you are to each of your teammates, the more force you will be able to generate together. I definitely know that President Ostler is inspired and that the Spirit guided our discussion. One of the scriptures he shared with me was D+C 6:32. The Lord promises that if we gather in His name “as touching one thing” He will be there with us. I know that it’s true.
As far as the work this week, Brother Raffy made it down to Puerto! He should be back tomorrow with his completed papers and as soon as he is married, he could be baptized that same day! I’m so happy for him and for the Rabanzo family that he is living with. Seeing his conversion has strengthened theirs. It’s definitely true that because we have the gospel and through the Atonement of Christ we can make it through tough times. I definitely know that Heavenly Father answers our prayers.  We are also continuing to see success in finding new investigators. Some of them that we found yesterday were especially exciting. A young man named Leonardo was in one of our lessons a few weeks ago and he gave us his phone number and address, but we hadn’t been able to reach him yet or find the right house. A sister in the branch approached me at church and said that she knows Brother Leonardo’s mother and that they thought we were going to come last week. She explained to us where the house was and we were able to teach Brother Leonardo, his mom, and his grandfather. It seemed from that first lesson that they have been prepared by the Lord. They even accepted a baptismal date right then!
That’s all for this week! I love you guys!
Ingat sila sa inyo!
-Elder Beagley
Leave a Reply

