Week 42 – Feed Your Faith and Share the Gospel!

DSCN0726[1]

Brother Penaflor after Church

Maulan na tanghali dito. It is a rainy afternoon here but it has still been a great week!

That’s awesome that you got to hear from Dallin H. Oaks. It really is a blessing to have a living prophet and apostles directing the church. We actually had a special broadcast yesterday from Niel L. Andersen and some other general authorities. It was great and the main topic was the filipino spirit of “I will be the one.” or sa tagalog, “Ako na lang.” It was about being the one to take a stand, to help others, and to live the Gospel.

Tuesday was a really good day for working with members. We got 3 new investigators from a member referral and the member that gave it, Brother Hechonova, and his wife also made a visit to our other investigators, the Cabillar family (their relatives). Brother Cabillar has not attended sacrament meeting yet, but almost all of his kids came last week. The Hechonova’s told us that his actual concern was that he had nothing nice to wear to church, so next week Brother Hechonova is going to loan him some pants and a shirt. I am continuing to see how much of an effect the members can have on investigators. The Cabillar family has really opened up since the Hechonovas started encouraging and visiting them.

My next highlights are some quotes from Zone Meeting on Wednesday which are all about faith:
“Feed your faith and your doubts will starve.”
“Sorrow looks back, worry looks around, but faith looks up.”
I know that having faith, especially in Christ and the principles of His Gospel, is a very powerful thing. Elder Andersen said in the special broadcast yesterday that just like it describes in Hebrews 11:1, faith is not something that is either there or not. It has “substance.” As we live the Gospel and exercise the faith that we have in overcoming trials, the substance of our faith is stretched and grows.
On Thursday we went to Rizal for exchanges again. I was with Elder Baquiran. Our exchange started with service to a part member family and the day only got better from there. I really learned from Elder Baquiran and I hope that he also learned from me. I am really impressed with both Elder Baquiran and Elder Whittle (the two Elders shotgunning there). They have really turned things around there in Rizal and through their simple acts of service and love they have gained the trust of the leaders and members. I am excited to see the success that next transfer will bring to them and the miracles that the Lord can work through them.
My last weekly highlight is the spiritual experience I shared with President Ostler this week. Yesterday, Elder Jim was not feeling well with a bad headache. As I closed my language study in prayer I asked Heavenly Father to bless Elder Jim and then I got a prompting. I had the distinct feeling that Heavenly Father wanted ME to bless Elder Jim. I then prayed that if I did bless him that I would know what to say. After the prayer I asked Elder Jim if he wanted a blessing and he said yes. The other Elders in our apartment gathered and, as I gave the blessing, Heavenly Father answered my prayer. I felt a great love for Elder Jim in that moment and I know that it was Heavenly Father sending His love to Elder Jim through me. I expressed that love in the blessing and also felt that I should add that Heavenly Father was pleased with Elder Jim’s efforts as a missionary in our area. After the blessing, Elder Jim had a short nap and we were able to go out and work. I felt peace and gratitude that Heavenly Father had answered my prayer and that I had said what He wanted me to say. I know that Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ are able to do this work by themselves, but we are included as instruments in their hands so that we also might grow from the experience. I know the priesthood which we hold is the same priesthood that Christ gave to His apostles and which they in turn restored to Joseph Smith. As for how I am doing, I will miss Elder Jim. I have come to love him as a companion and know that he will do great things wherever he goes. I am also excited for a new opportunity to train.
I just got the news about me training again yesterday so I don’t know who the new Elder is yet but I already love him. I’m out of time but I just want to continue to encourage you to share the gospel even in small ways as much as you can. I promise that it will bring you great joy.
Mahal namahal ko kayong lahat!
Ingat kayo palagi!
-Elder Beagley
Leave a Reply

