Week 38 – The Gospel is Blessing Lives

List

A list of all the Elders who have served in Quezon. I’m at the bottom. Elder Zook is also on here.

P day activity

P Day activity at Iluluway – Fresh coconut juice is delicious!

Fresh coconut juice -delicious

                                                                                            Masarap!

Magandang tanghali sa inyong lahat!

On Tuesday we had Zone Meeting with some new changes being implemented into the mission. First off we are trying to shorten all of our lessons to 30 minutes or less. This will really help us to get more work done and allow the investigators more time to read and keep their commitments. Elder Jim and I have already seen the blessings of this in the work. The second big change was that we committed to sing a hymn in each lesson. At first I was a little apprehensive about that one. I know that Hymns are really powerful and can bring the Spirit… when other people sing them! Luckily Elder Jim has a good voice so I just kind of follow along with him! I’ll have to work on the whole singing thing but Elder Jim and I have already seen the effect of this new, inspired change.
There were two lessons specifically where I felt that the Hymn really affected our investigators. One was with a husband and wife where the wife’s family are members. Brother Ian, her husband, didn’t know any hymns but his sister-in-law suggested “I Am a Child of God.” Even though it was just Elder Jim and I singing, I really saw the expression on Brother Ian’s face change. He definitely felt the Spirit and the lesson was much more focused and effective than our last one with him had been. The other lesson was with the Baco Family. They obviously didn’t know the hymn “Families Can Be Together Forever,” but they held the hymnbook and tried their best to follow along as we sang. It really invited the Spirit into the lesson and Brother and Sister Baco’s daughter opened up to us in that lesson that she knows what we are sharing is true! I know that the things we learned in Zone Meeting are truly inspired.
This Friday we had exchanges with the Zone Leaders and Elder Villoso interviewed Sister Penaflor for baptism. The plan was for her to be baptized first because Brother Penaflor will still have to wait a few weeks. She passed her interview but said that she really wants to wait for her husband to be baptized as well, so that’s the new plan. Elder Villoso shared with her in 2nd Nephi 33:1 about the Spirit carrying the truth to Brother Penaflor’s heart. Sister Penaflor said that she will read the Book of Mormon to Brother Penaflor every day to help him prepare as well. I also had a great day with Elder Merrill who is our new zone leader here in Narra Zone. We did a ton of OYMing and had a great lesson with Brother Raffy, who is now just waiting for his papers to come back so that he and his girlfriend can be married, then he can be baptized. He is really committed and working hard so that he can accept the Gospel into his life.
I am just about out of time but I just wanted to share my testimony with you guys that I know that Jesus Christ lives. He really does love us so much and wants us to become what only He can make of us.  We watched a video in Zone Meeting and one part was from a talk by Henry B. Eyring. He said something like this, “Whenever I feel like I have completed something difficult and deserve a rest, I give myself this rallying cry, “Remember Him.”” He goes on to talk about how even after the Savior said, “it is finished” and his mortal life was over, he then went and continued his work in the Spirit World. I know that if we will all Remember Him more in our lives, we will gain greater perspective on what is truly important and we will seek to bring others to that knowledge as well.
I love you all so much and hope that your week is a great one.  I’m excited that you guys are committed to doing more missionary work. I know that you’ll really see the blessings from it! Keep sending me your spiritual/missionary experiences!
Mahal namahal ko kayong lahat!
Ingat kayo palagi!
-Elder Beagley
Leave a Reply

