Week 34 – Following the Spirit

Studying

My Study Area

cool lizzard

A Cool Lizard in back of our House

this is where we work out

This is Where We Work Out

Magandang gabi sa inyong lahat!
It has once again been a great week here in Quezon.
As we planned on Monday night, we both had a strong impression that we needed to visit a couple who lives in Tapsan (about a 30 minute tricycle ride from where we usually work). We scheduled that appointment with faith that it would work out and hoping that we wouldn’t be wasting the travel time. The next day we traveled to Tapsan and went to the house. When we got there, only the wife was home and we had no member working with us, so we couldn’t teach her. I felt like we had just wasted all this time traveling, but as we set up an appointment for a few days later, I had a thought come into my mind. I remembered some people whom we had spoken with a few weeks earlier that lived just a 2 minute walk away. They were home and we offered to share a short video and message with them. We watched the Because He Lives video and could really tell that they were feeling the Spirit. Elder Jim and I shared our testimonies and committed them to read the Restoration pamphlet. We set up a return appointment after the one with the other couple and then rode back to Quezon. I know that we were guided by the Spirit. Elder Jim commented to me as we walked away from where we had taught, “That’s why we needed to come here.” I know that it’s true. Heavenly Father is always guiding us as we follow the promptings of the Spirit.
I want to tell you guys a little bit about our investigators. The ones who are really progressing right now are those ones who we planned to visit in Tapsan. The Penaflors. They are a husband and wife in their 70’s. They actually have a couple of kids who are members so they were a referral from the ward. When we visited them on Friday Sister Penaflor told us that she had read the Introduction and the Testimony of Joseph Smith in the Book of Mormon. I asked her how it was and she just smiled and said, “ang ganda!” (like, “so beautiful”) Sister Penaflor has now come to church 2 weeks in a row and Brother attended yesterday. They have great faith and are starting to realize why their children made the decision to join the church so long ago.
Another highlight was exchanging with the Zone Leaders on Wednesday. It was a great day and I was really able to learn from Elder Villoso’s example in teaching. I was also able to get some good advice from Elder Sims about helping Elder Jim with tagalog. He actually lived in Idaho before his mission. He went to Meridian and we know some of the same people from the Boise Youth Spectacular that I went to Junior year. (Also, It’s crazy that all these people I know from school are on missions now). As Elder Villoso and I planned for the day, he asked, “what do you think Tatay Claveria needs right now?” I thought for a little bit and the topic of repentance popped into my head. We picked a scripture to share with him and went on with planning. Later on as we went to visit him, I asked if he had read in the Book of Mormon and for the first time in a while he actually had! I asked where he read and he said, “hindi ko natandaan kung saan, pero tungkol pagsisisi.” (I don’t remember where, but it was about repentance.) I knew right then that it was the Spirit that guided us in our planning.
I only have a few minutes left but I just wanted to share with you my testimony of the Book of Mormon. I finished it yesterday for the first time in my mission. I know that it’s true. I know that it was written by prophets of God under the influence of the Holy Ghost. I know that if we not only read it, but truly study and ponder it, we will come closer to the Savior. That is the main purpose of the Book of Mormon: to testify of Jesus Christ. I know that studying the scriptures is a commandment of God and that if we make time for it, we will have peace and guidance in our lives. I love you all and hope that you have a great week!
Mahal namahal ko kayong lahat!
Ingat kayo palagi!
-Elder Beagley
Leave a Reply

