Week 33 – Inspiration from A Chosen Prophet and Apostles

Bus

Bus back from Zone Meeting in Narra. Elder Binhaon in front, Elder Coloma next and then me.

House

Bahay namin (Our House)

Comp

Bagong kasama (New Companion)  –  Elder Jim

He killed that spider (last week) right after I took the picture. Elder Jim is awesome and really wants to learn Tagalog so that he can more effectively share the message with the people here. So that’s what we’re focusing on during our language study.

Also, we are actually headed right into the hot season right now. So I’m getting tan again.

Magandang Tanghali Ulit! It has been an amazing week here in Quezon and also Narra!

FIrst off we had Zone Meeting on Tuesday. It was great to receive counsel and guidance from our leaders and was a good lead-in to general conference. The main topic there was the Because He Lives video. We finally have a copy of it to show to those we teach. If you guys haven’t seen it, take 2 minutes, get on youtube or helives.mormon.org and watch it right now. It’s amazing and has been a great tool for us. The main role of the Holy Ghost is to testify of God and of Jesus Christ. This video does that and brings the Spirit into the room right away. Just this last week we have 9 new investigators from this video! It really is true. President Ostler challenged us last week to write our own “Because He Lives” testimony. I want to share mine with you:
I know that Jesus Christ lives. I know that he atoned for the sins of the world. I have felt the redeeming power of his sacrifice in my life and seen it in the lives of others. Because Christ lives, there is at least one other who knows what we feel, what we experience, and what we go through each day. He knows exactly how to uplift us in our trials. He is especially present in the work of Salvation, or missionary work. The promise in D+C 84 is true. He is “on our right hand and our left.” His grace “opens the windows of heaven” (President Uchtdorf) and allows us to be much more than we ourselves could alone become. I know that this is true!
The next highlight was a Family Home Evening on Wednesday at the Claveria’s house. There were so many members there for support. We watched the Because He Lives video and had a kind of testimony meeting. The Spirit was so strong as each member shared their testimony of the restored gospel and of the Savior. Then it came time for the non-member father to speak. Brother Claveria got a little bit choked up as he spoke about almost getting baptized years ago. He said that he truly wants his family to be whole once again. When he finished speaking, I bore my testimony to him about the Atonement. No matter what we have done in the past or what we wish we could change, the Atonement of Jesus Christ gives us that chance to become clean and to become a better person. I testified to Brother Claveria that he still has a chance for his family to be united in the restored gospel. Elder Jim and I were so happy to see him at the morning session of General Conference yesterday. I know that the Spirit is really the one who spoke to Brother Claveria.
Next is general conference! Ive only got a few minutes left so I’ll just share some of my favorite quotes.
“What do we do with the Saviors teachings in our lives?” Dallin H. Oaks on becoming “good soil.”
“The decision to believe will shape all of our other decisions.” -L. Whitney Clayton
“As we fear God more completely, we love Him more perfectly, and perfect love casteth out all fear.” David A. Bednar
“No one is predestined to receive less than all that God has for his children.” D. Todd Christofferson
“Many of the things you can count, don’t count.”  “If you feel weak or small, please simply come unto Christ who makes weak things strong.” Pres. Uchtdorf
Also the Primary general president talked about “I know my Savior loves me.” That’s the song mom sent me!
My favorite: “I could teach you to dance, but you have to hear the music.”
I also want to just testify that I know that Thomas S. Monson is God’s chosen Prophet on the earth today. There are so many more that I loved. I hope we can all take these inspiring messages and use them in our own lives and to bless the lives of others. I love you all!
Mahal namahal ko kayong lahat!
Ingat kayo palagi!
-Elder Beagley
Leave a Reply

