Week 32 – Making New Friends…

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Palawan is a Beautiful Place

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I was about halfway through my shower when I saw this guy on the wall!

Magandang Tanghali sa inyong lahat! It has been a great first full week here in Quezon!

 Thanks for the pictures of and update about the temple!  I’m so happy that there will be a temple that close!  That’s so exciting! I’m glad work is going well.  It’s great to hear about conference. I’ll get to watch it next week.
We had the baptism of Sister Frecilyn this week. She is 16 years old and has an amazing testimony. It was really great. I taught Elder Jim the baptismal words in Tagalog and he nailed it! Except he forgot to say her middle name the first time! That’s okay though, second time’s the charm. Sister Frecilyn then bore her testimony and said that she really wants to prepare now to go on a mission.
As far as the investigators go that we have here, there are a few who are really great and already progressing. One of them is Sister Iko. She has a member boyfriend so we thought that that was the main reason she is listening to us, but what she said in our lesson Monday proved that wrong. She said that she knows that The Church is a blessing to her boyfriends life and wants to really know the truth for herself before she makes the decision to join. We testified of the truth of the Book of Mormon and how she can really know the truth from Heavenly Father and not have to rely on anyone else.
The Claveria family is one that we are also focusing on. The mother is a semi-active member along with a couple of the kids but the father and also their nine year old son have not been baptized. We had a great lesson with them a few days ago. We really focused on teaching their father. He really wants his son to be baptized but he seems hesitant about himself. I bore my testimony to him about the Gospel being able to bless his family and told him that if he wants his family to really be united, he can be an example to them in accepting and living the Gospel. He then said a very sincere and heartfelt prayer to end that lesson.
I also wanted to share about a lesson with some new investigators. We had OYM’ed Sister Madrid on Wednesday. She was very nice and said that we could come back anytime. When we went back to teach her on Saturday, her husband was also there. As we sat down and opened with a prayer I could feel a little awkwardness from Brother Madrid. I could tell that he wasn’t too sure if he wanted us there or not. I felt like focusing on his family and how this Gospel can bless them would help him to open up, so that’s what we discussed as we began teaching. It was amazing to see the Spirit really work with him and soon he was looking through the pamphlet instead of just leaving it on the shelf next to him like earlier. I asked how he thinks living the teachings of Christ could bless him and his children. I could really feel his love for his family as he spoke about giving his children a brighter future. Elder Jim and I testified that Heavenly Father loves us just like Brother Madrid loves his children and that He wants the best future possible for us; to live with Him as families for eternity. I really felt the Spirit as Elder Jim shared how happy he is that his mother was just baptized
I only have a couple of minutes left but I just wanted to share this last highlight. This Sunday was probably the best of my mission. It was an amazing testimony meeting after Sister Frecilyn’s confirmation. I felt the Spirit so strongly as the members of Quezon Branch bore their testimonies. I know that his branch is really capable of great things. The members don’t have a lot, but they all have testimonies of the truthfulness of this Church and the Gospel and they are willing to share them. I know that this is where Heavenly Father wants me and I know that missionary work will bring everyone involved closer to Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ and help them to feel the Holy Ghost. I love you guys so much and I hope that you have a great week!
Mahal namahal ko kayong lahat!
Ingat kayo palagi!
-Elder Beagley

Leave a Reply

