Presents, Hometown Ties and The Temple

B-day pkg

Birthday Package Excitement!

B-day present

My Gift to Myself

11070838_10204077141034622_7582297646702435944_n

I Love the People of The Philippines!!!!!

Temple p day

The Evolving Sampoloc District

Late P-Days are so worth it! We just got back from the temple.

After our P Day activities last monday, we had a Family Home Evening with the Elder’s Quorum President and his wife. He brought out some of his pictures from back when he served in the Manila Mission and guess who was his companion when he was out in Taytay? Kyle Anderson that went to school with Jessi and Ashton! It was pretty crazy to open up the photo album and see him standing there in a BSU shirt! I just started laughing. Elder Lumanta and I gave an object lesson on the Atonement and it was a really great time. About the Atonement, there’s an initiative thats going to be starting soon. The church will be releasing a video called “Because He Lives” on the 28th of March. Then on the day before Easter the Church has bought out Youtube’s front page and a whole bunch of other ad space in America and 4 other countries (unfortunately the Philippines isn’t one of them, but it will still be great!). You guys will have to check that out. It’s an amazing opportunity for missionary work and for the whole world to know that Jesus Christ died for them and was resurrected and because of that, we will all be resurrected.
Tuesday was Zone Conference! I’m glad that you guys are getting the updates on the mission blog. I’ll just share some themes/quotes that I really liked:
“Humility is the key to spiritual growth and receiving revelation.”
Elder Thurber (who’s blog I read and who is now an Assistant to the President) Shared the contrast between the surrender of Zerahemna in Alma 44 and the surrender of the Anti-Nephi-Lehis in Alma 24. It was great about just “burying our weapons” forsaking our sins and following Christ. My favorite quote from him was this: “How can we invite others to come unto Christ (or in other words fulfill our purpose)? Because we are already there.”
The end of the Zone Conference was a video from one of Jeffrey R. Hollands Conference addresses called, “Do you love me?” It was about how Peter and the other Apostles went back to fishing after Christ had left them. Christ appeared on the shore and they quickly realized that it was Him. Christ then asks Peter three times if he loves Him. Elder Holland explained what Christ was essentially saying in these words. “Peter… If I want fish I can get fish. What I need are disciples, and I need them forever.” This was probably my favorite part of the whole conference. It really showed how we need to be truly committed to being a disciple of Christ. Peter went on to accomplish great things in teaching the Gospel, and I know that we can too if we truly become disciples of Christ.
“The crowning characteristic of Love is always loyalty.”
Another highlight of the week is that I got my package! I was so excited to open it! Thanks especially for the BYU shirt and the mashed potatoes. The first thing I said when I ate them was, “These mashed potatoes are so creamy.” but nobody in the bahay got it. That’s for you mom!
Today was also one of the highlights. We got to go to the temple this morning! It was a great experience as always. Sister Delaitubuna in our district goes home next week. I still can’t even imagine it but I know that it will come all too soon! After this zone conference I feel even more motivated to give all my heart might mind and strength in this work. I know that there will never be another time in my life like this. I want to bear my testimony to you all that I know Jesus Christ lives. He atoned for all of our sins and died so that we might live with Him and our Heavenly Father again. If we will confess and forsake our sins and strive to follow Him we can be made clean. I feel His love for me and for the people of The Philippines every day. I hope that you can all feel His love for you as you draw closer to Him.
I love you all so much and thanks for the encouragement always!
Mahal namahal ko kayong lahat!
Ingat po kayo palagi!
-Elder Beagley
Leave a Reply

