A Week for Referrals

DSCN0327[1]

Our new district ties

Hey everyone, it has been a great week! Elder Lumanta and I are settling in great. As I mentioned before he is a good cook and so far the best meal that he has made for us has been some delicious Adobo Chicken.
On Tuesday, we had our first district meeting with Elder Taylor as the District Leader. He is doing a great job.  We also got to eat dinner at the Stake President’s house. It was super delicious and I’m pretty sure mom would have loved the salad. It reminded me of the one that she makes with the corn in it!
On Thursday we were headed to the church early to meet up with a new referral named Joy when I realized that we wouldn’t be able to teach her without another male member present. Our member present wasn’t meeting up with us until later and I didn’t know what we would do. When we got to the church, brother Nick (a member from the singles ward) was there waiting for some people, and he was able to help us. I know that it was a little miracle just for us to be able to teach sister Joy. It was a great lesson and we are going to teach her again on Wednesday.
Later on that night, when we went back to the church, a man came walking up with a BYU shirt on. I told him that I liked his shirt and he stopped to talk with us for a minute. When he saw Elder Lumanta’s name tag, he got really excited and started asking Elder Lumanta about where he is from. It turns out that the man’s name is Nick Perez. He lives in Bountiful Utah, but he’s visiting here in Sampaloc for a reunion, and he is the one that baptized Elder Lumanta’s parents! It was an amazing experience and I truly know that the Lord places us in just the right place at the right time!
On Friday night, we were able to teach another lesson to a referral from a member of the ward. Her name is Kelly and her boyfriend, an RM, is the one who referred her to us. When we asked her what her expectations for the lesson were, she said, “I really want to find out for myself if this is true.” She has come to Church with Brother Paul a few times already, but just this week she decided to be taught by us. That lesson was very powerful and sister Kelly cried when we taught about how the gospel blesses families. I know that because sister Kelly’s desire is so strong, that she will be able to know the truth for herself. That is the great thing about the gospel. The knowledge doesn’t come from somebody else. We can truly know in our hearts that the Book of Mormon is true through the power of the Holy Ghost, and that knowledge will only lead to more. I have done as Moroni directs and “asked God, the Eternal Father, in the name of Christ” if these things are true. That’s why I’m here right now, because I know that they are true.
The last highlight of the week is yesterday, which was the last Sunday for a couple of young men in the ward. Elder Castro will serve in the Philippines Urdaneta mission, and Elder Barola will serve in the New York, New York mission! (Elder Barola goes into the Provo MTC on the 20th!) They both gave great farewell talks and after sacrament we had the Philippines Area General Broadcast. I just want to write to you guys one quote that was shared in the broadcast. It’s from the last General Conference. “God will not act to make us something that we do not choose, by our actions, to become.” I know that this is so true. If we do not do anything to improve ourselves, Heavenly Father can’t help us to improve. But the reverse is also true. If we do everything that we can to become who Heavenly Father and the Lord want us to be, they will give us the experiences and knowledge for us to get there. Being a trainer right away isn’t the easiest thing, but I know that I’m doing everything I can to become the missionary and the man that Heavenly Father knows I can be, and I know that he is helping me every step of the way. I can’t do this by myself, so it’s a good thing that I’m not.
I love you all and I hope that you have an amazing week!
Mahal ko kayong lahat!
-Elder Beagley
One thought on “A Week for Referrals

Leave a Reply

